Skip to main content

POTG Barrow Appoints National Security Council of 7 members


The president of the republic of The Gambia, Mr. Adama Barrow, under powers vested in him under section 78 of the 1996 constitution on Monday appointed 7 members of the coveted National Security Council, comprising of the president himself, the minister of interior, Fatty, the CDS Kinteh, IGP Kinteh, the NIA director Sowe, the commander of the army Cham, the navy commander, Senghore and the intelligence adviser to the president. Under the aforementioned section, the national security council shall comprise of the above mentioned personnel. The following is an excerpt of the 1996 constitution, s. 78. 

78. National security council

(1) There shall be a National Security Council which shall consist of-

(a) the President;

(b) the Vice-President;

(c) the Secretaries of State responsible for defence and internal affairs;

(d) the Chief of Defence Staff and two other members of the Armed Forces appointed by the President;

(e) the Inspector General of Police;

(f) the Director-General of the National intelligence Agency; and

(g) the intelligence adviser to the President.

(2) The National Security Council shall be responsible for advising the President on all matters relating to the security of The Gambia and the integration of domestic and foreign policies relating to its security, and, under the direction of the President, shall take appropriate measures to safeguard the internal and external security of The Gambia and to provide for the co-operation of the departments and agencies of the Government in that regard.

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.